Composition Award – Organs of the National Palace of Mafra returns in 2021


Photography: RR


The Ministry of Culture and the Municipality of Mafra promote together, once again, the “International Composition Award – Organs of the National Palace of Mafra”, aiming not only to create a new repertoire for the magnificent instrumental ensemble, classified in 2019 as World Heritage by UNESCO, as well as generating a dynamic of valorization of this unique heritage.

The applications for this award, with a biennial periodicity and which aims to distinguish composers who present pieces destined to said instrumental ensemble, making use of their own characteristics, are open until April 16, 2021.

initiative comprises two categories: original composition and transcription for the organs

Divided into two categories, the initiative is divided into a component related to the composition of an original work and another related to the transcription for the six organs. The value of the prizes is 10 thousand and 5 thousand euros, respectively.

The jury of this fourth edition consists of four personalities of recognized international merit: Yves Rechsteiner (Switzerland), who chairs, Federico Del Sordo (Italy) and the Portuguese Eugénio Amorim and João Vaz.

Created by the two most important Portuguese organ makers of their time – António Xavier Machado e Cerveira and Joaquim António Peres Fontanes –, the six organs of the Basilica of Mafra National Palace constitute a unique set in the world, not because of their number, which is already remarkable, but because they were built at the same time and originally designed to play together.

The place where the works for the competition are received is as follows: Secretariat of the “International Composition Award – Organs of the National Palace of Mafra”, Praça do Município 2644-001 Mafra – PORTUGAL.

For more information, you may consult the technical file and the respective regulation.

Esta publicação também está disponível em | This article is also available in: Portuguese (Portugal)